Random number generator + multithreading problem
Space cpp

Hello.
I moved my AI evaluation function to run on a separated thread and now all random number generator calls returns the same number.
On the main thread everything is fine.

My RNG function:

#SelectExpand
1int iRand(int min, int max) 2{ 3 if (min >= max) return min; 4 int i = rand()%(max - min + 1); 5 return min + i; 6}

Mark Oates

Are you initializing the random numbers with srand?

bamccaig

Perhaps you need to reseed it on each thread?

void srand(unsigned);

Or seed it at all. :)

Most people pass time as the seed value so it changes each time you run the program.

srand(time(NULL));

Space cpp

I was calling srand(time(NULL)) at the beggining of the program. Calling it on the thread function solved the problem.

But... the program crashed on exit.
Do I have to use a mutex to ensure the safety of the srand/rand calls? I'm still kinda new to multithreaded programming.

amarillion

Hard to know what caused the crash without seeing the code. Can you share some?

Multithreaded programming is complex, and the question you should always ask is, do I really need it? You might be able to do without, and it will simplify things a lot.

Audric

Even if it's not strictly necessary in this case, it can still be a good occasion to learn/experiment.

In this case, I have a hard time imagining why having called rand() / srand() would lead to a crash later.
I would rather advise you double-check every freeing of resource that your child thread might still be using.

For example, if your AI thread uses any allegro function / data, the thread should already be stopped before allegro is shut down.
Note that even if you don't call al_uninstall_system(void) yourself, it will be called after you reach the end of main() (AFAIK it is using the atexit() system to do so)

In general, killing the thread should be one of the first things to do when you stop the program.

Space cpp