Mingw & Codeblocks vs. Visual C++
Johan Halmén

A few times during my history as a hobby programmer, I've tried to switch from GCC/Mingw/Dev-C++/Codeblocks to Visual and after crying a little bit inside I've always turned back. By GCC/Mingw/Dev-C++/Codeblocks I mean a lose family of some fine free software, that always has made me feel comfortable. Their actual relationships with each other are unclear to me (like GCC vs. Mingw) and actually I don't even care to know. By Visual I mean everything like Visual Studio or Visual C++, and although that stuff can probably be used for free, it still is Micro$oft (last time, long ago, I remember the free version didn't include some important parts that I needed).

Right now I have a setup with Mingw/Codeblocks and Allegro 5. But it's on my job laptop, and we have a process going on that every employee gets their laptop reset and installed with new software. The laptop gets totally wiped out. Win7 gets replaced with Win10 (which is the main thing with the process) and a bunch of software gets installed. Among the software is Visual C++.

When I get my laptop back, I might install Allegro 5 with Visual C++ or I might just uninstall Visual C++ and reinstall Mingw/Codeblocks and Allegro 5. I'm talking about a school here, and the employees are teachers. A very few teach programming. I teach music. So, having Visual C++ on sixty teachers' computers, while three or four teach programming seems pretty stupid, and I don't think I'd need Visual C++ at all in my job.

I guess some of you use Visual C++ and some of you use Codeblocks or Dev-Cpp together with Mingw. I'd like to hear your comments, but only if you truly have experiences with both. Not comments like "I've always sticked to Mingw and I'm happy with it".

Edgar Reynaldo