draw_sprite in allegro 5
jim109109

Hello, I'm new to Allegro and learning the functions gradually as I need them. Everything seemed great..until now...My first problem

I need to draw a bitmap on top of another. I have found the allegro 4 "draw_sprite" function which seems to do the trick. The problem is I can't seem to find the equivalent in allegro 5...

I get:
identifier "al_draw_sprite" is undefined
or
identifier "draw_sprite" is undefined

Same error for blit() and a couple of similar functions.
Other functions & the tutorial worked.

Are those particular functions obsolete in allegro 5?
Or is there a specific header that I need to include?

Thanks! ;D

Matthew Leverton

Use al_draw_bitmap() with an image that has an alpha channel.

jim109109

That is hardly as convenient...then i have to handle the images one by one.
I have a map composed of tiles. I want the map to be a bitmap, and to draw the tiles over it.
That way, when I move the camera, I don't have to redraw all the tiles but rather draw a different segment of the map. It will make the game run faster.

Edgar Reynaldo

Umm... It does the exact same thing, only using sprites with zero alpha instead of magic pink.....

jim109109

But can it draw on another bitmap rather than the actual display? :O
*Really the problem with drawing on display is that I wanna store the resulting image in a variable for further use, manipulation, etc, for example drawing a sub bitmap

Thanks men

Edgar Reynaldo

al_set_target_bitmap does what you're looking for.

The drawing target in A5 is now state based instead of parameter based like in A4.

jmasterx

al_set_target_bitmap should do it for you.

D'Oh, beat me to it.

jim109109

That is exactly what I'm look for! Thank you!
I will surely include you in the
May the heavens shine upon you who made this badass game possible
section of the CREDITS!

Evert
jim109109 said:

I have a map composed of tiles. I want the map to be a bitmap, and to draw the tiles over it.