fps problem with al_draw_bitmap
EdadTace

Hi

Before I start telling you about my problem, I'd like to point out that I'm pretty new to C++ in general. All I know is from youtube tutorials so there is a few things that I still don't have a complete understanding of yet.

Now with that aside, I have a problem with al_draw_bitmap function causing a huge FPS drop on my game. I've got a timer limiting my game to 60 FPS, but the function it all the way down to 25 - and after running for some time it drops down to 9-10 and a bit later all the way down to 6, so it's definitely a issue I need to get solved somehow.

Here's all the code I believe is relevant - if you need to see more just ask and I'll post that too

First of we have the constructor of the class that contains the function that draws the bitmaps. This is where I load the images in.
This is only fired once so the problem is not caused by the images being loaded in multiple times (the cout acts as proof of that ).

I've also got a deconstruct which destroy the loaded files, but that's not important for this.

#SelectExpand
1objects::objects() 2: skyHeight( 500 ) 3{ 4 cout << "Objects object created" << endl; 5 grassBit = al_load_bitmap( "grass.png" ); 6 objectBit = al_load_bitmap( "object.png" ); 7}

Here the function I where the problem lies with - I've called it DrawGrass

#SelectExpand
8void objects::DrawGrass( int screenW, int camX, int camY ){ 9 float side = 50.0; 10 int posY = skyHeight - camY; 11 12 float startX = camX / side; 13 int roundX = startX; 14 startX = ( startX - roundX ) * side; 15 int posX = 0 - startX; 16 17 if( posY > 0 - side ){ 18 while( posX < screenW ){ 19 //al_draw_filled_rectangle( posX, posY, posX + side, posY + side, al_map_rgb( 0,255,0 ) ); 20 al_draw_bitmap( grassBit, posX, posY, ALLEGRO_VIDEO_BITMAP ); 21 posX += 50; 22 } 23 } 24}