Amsterdam visit
OICW

Hello there, on 16th March I'm going to visit Amsterdam, I'll be there till Monday 19th when I fly back to Prague. I have a friend over there studying at the university and I plan to visit another friend in Delft on Saturday. So if anyone there would like to meet, we could probably arrange some meeting.

Anyway, if anyone would like to point out some interesting places to visit or stay away, I would appreciate any suggestions.

verthex

If you're a foreigner, don't count on smoking anything or eating it either. At the bars I mean.

OICW

Well, I guess I'll be safe then, because I'm not really into weed or mushrooms. Actually any drugs except alcohol and caffeine/tein :) For that instance I think I also skip out of any red light district adventures - I don't need to take something back home :)

verthex
OICW said:

Actually any drugs except alcohol

I've had some of the worst life experiences with alcohol and I cannot even suggest drinking hard liquor (5 shots) over a single joint but I guess the cops that keep arresting beligerent drunks who beat their wives and urinate in public are more social (the drunks I mean).

Evert

I should be around, the only problem would be that my weekends tend to get eaten by doing stuff for our new house. I might be able to arrange for a free evening though. Perhaps friday would be best for that?

As for things to see - are you a museum person, a city person, or a different type of person again? I would recommend a canal tour (by boat), you get to see a fair bit of the city with some background information. If you do want to go to a museum, decide in advance and get the tickets on-line. It saves you several hours.