How to add an icon to the game
AleX-G Squadron

I am trying to make a new icon for a game, but can't find how to add it.
Anyone pls help!

SiegeLord

This perhaps: al_set_display_icon ?

AleX-G Squadron

How can i use it?
Sorry, i am a bit of newbie :S

Don Freeman

I think he means like you click to start the program. It depends on the compiler/platform. If you just mean the icon on the title bar, then use al_set_display_icon. The link SiegeLord gave tells you how to use it. ;)

AleX-G Squadron

How can i use this?
void al_set_display_icon(ALLEGRO_DISPLAY *display, ALLEGRO_BITMAP *icon)
Don't get a thing :(

does it mean?
void al_set_display_icon(ALLEGRO_DISPLAY *display, ALLEGRO_BITMAP *image)

It doesn't work like this....

Tried like this:
ALLEGRO_BITMAP *image = "image.ico"

AMCerasoli

Alex, I think you're way too newbie... You shouldn't start learning a graphic library if you don't know the programming language that it uses first.

Have you initialized Allegro, created a display and loaded the image you want to use as an icon?.

That's too crazy man, with Allegro you'll work almost all the time with pointers, that means that you're locating and deallocating memory manually all the time.

To allocate memory for an ALLEGRO_BITMAP you need to use al_load_bitmap() which returns a pointer, pointing to the direction recently allocated. And then you need to free that memory with al_destroy_bitmap().

So basically after initialize Allegro, and create a new display.

ALLEGRO_BITMAP *icon = al_load_bitmap("youricon.png"); // Note that it's a normal
                                                       // .png file not an .ico file
al_set_display_icon(your_display, icon);               // Allegro doesn't support .ico files

And that should work.

Edit: And BTW why did you put this post in the Allegro Development category?

AleX-G Squadron

I did it like you said, it shows this:
Unhandled exception at 0x00000000 in game.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation.