Making a animation function,
Mozzie

Hey guys,
I have took it upon myself to coming up with ideas for creating a function for animating a sprite. The parametres will/should look like this.

sprite_animate(Bitmap, FrameDimensionH, FrameDimensionW, StartFrame, EndFrame)

Okay, now here I will explain how it works. Please note, that this function will probably only work for a non varying frame sized animation. so here we go, you will declare a bitmap and assign a sprite strip/bmp to it. You will then set the frame dimensions like 32x32 or 16x16. It will then find those frames and order them from 0 to "the last frames". So thats how it will work, but I still have to get my head around the coding. Hence why I am asking you guys for help on this, and what I should do?

William Labbett

Not that I'm an expert but here's two cents :-

I think you need to think of it in stages instead of one function that does everything.

something like this :

update_animtion_frame()

draw_animation_frame(int frame_number, etc...)

Now the way I do the update of the frame is tied into the timing loop.

Here's my code : as basic as I can make it - that's how I code but it's C.

while( old_time < al_get_timer_count(timer))
        {
            ++old_time;

--hero_frame_counter;
      if(hero_frame_counter <= 0)
      {
        hero_frame_counter = HERO_TICKS_PER_FRAMEUPDATE;

update_hero_frame();
      }

As you can see every time the loop runs the hero_frame_counter gets one knocked off it. That means for each tick of the timer. When it reaches 0 it's time to move to the next frame.

When this loop stops, then the draw function gets called and the right frame gets called/** edit : drawn **/. Hopefully this would be a subsequent frame - ie frame 4 after frame 3 but if the previous draw took a long time then the logic loop (above) will get called more times in order to catch up with the actual time.

As far as I know this the way to do it.