Indentation (4 spaces vs 8 spaces)
decepto

A couple questions:

1. Do you use hard tabs or soft spaces for indentation - and why?
2. How many spaces do you indent in? 4, 8 or (gasp!) 2?

Personally, I use soft spaces with an indent of 4 for every programming language. Trying to use 8 space indentation is just too hard when I try to keep my lines less than 80 characters.

Sol Blast

I prefer the uniformity you get with the tab key (so in other words 4 in MVS6).

ITAmember

I use soft indentation and 4 spaces because I'm a big python programmer and that is the python standard. But that's just me.

Jeff Bernard

I typically use hard tabs. But if I ever use soft spacing (such as when formatting code for a forum), I use 3 spaces.

CosmicR

I use whatever the source code formatter does in code::blocks. I think it's the K & R standard.
Previously before I had the formatter I used spaces, often only 2 because sometimes lines got too long when I used descriptive variable names.

OnlineCop

I use tabs to indent, and spaces to align.

My IDE usually have the tab/indentation level set to 3, since it's not as space-wasting as 4, and easier to read than 2.

Although people who use tabs to indent also use tabs to align, I think it's a pain to visually match everything in their sources by either changing my IDE's tab/indentation level to match theirs or (in the extreme case) reformat their code to make everything align correctly.

--|--|std::cout << "Text that is so long that it needs to break across lines "
--|--|          << "have the tabs set the same as the line above, and then hit "
--|--|          << "SPACE until the <<'s are aligned visually.";

Now, whether I choose to have my tabs/indentation set at 3,4,8, or some other value, everything shifts by the same proportions and no reindentation is needed.

MiquelFire

I use tabs. Mainly so that if I edit the file in an editor that doesn't use Shift+Tab to deindent (or doesn't auto indent) I have less keys to type.

CGamesPlay