Erasing Rectangle on a BItmap BG
makeshift_theory

Hello,

First off I am new to the forums so hello all, second off I am a curious programmer. I work as a php/cgi/asp/ application programmer and I am learning c++ and allegro on the side for fun. After doing some reading I am curious. I see that you can remove a bitmap from screen with clear_bitmap however the only way I can see to do so is to do a rectfill with the same color background to hide it. However, I cannot seem to find a way to remove the trace of the rectangle on a bitmap can someone be so kind to enlighten me?

Thank you for your time in advance =).

Thomas Fjellstrom

technically a clear_bitmap is just a full size rectfill() call (though its implemented differently).

As a bitmap is just a chunk of memory, you can't "remove" something that was there, you can just replace it with something else.

So if you are looking for a way to "remove" a sprite before drawing it again, you have two main choices:

1. Dirty Rectangles, save the screen contents, and blit the previous contents of that part of the bitmap with the original, and blit the new sprite to where ever, or
2. Plain Double Buffering, draw everything to a "screen" sized bitmap, and blit that to the screen, every frame/loop.

makeshift_theory

Oh ok I think I understand so what you would do is draw the rectangle or bitmap to the buffer and then draw it to the screen and then remove the buffer and do all looping redraws to the buffer first correct?

Thomas Fjellstrom

exactly. Though if you fill the entire area of the buffer every frame, you don't need to "empty" it at all, saving a possibly costly "clear_bitmap" call.

psuedo code:

while(!key[KEY_ESC]) {
  logic();
  // optional clear_bitmap(buffer);
  draw_stuff(buffer);
  blit_buffer_to_screen();
}

makeshift_theory

That's about what I have =). Now I'm just trying to figure out how to animate a projectile, I need to find some good reading haha.

miran