AllegroOgg
Damian Grove

I'll tell you right off that I'm not really an expert C programmer. I can program in C, but understanding new things is a weakness for me with programming.

So anyway, I recently installed AllegroOgg because I want to use OGG sound files with my game engine. I've read the documentation and the example source code, and it goes above my head.

Here's what I want to do... I have specific sections in my source code that I want to have AllegroOgg perform very specific tasks. The best way for me to learn is from a very basic example that is broken up into small bits rather than the example provided with AllegroOgg. Here's four little parts in my code:

BITMAP *Dump;
// INSERT HERE !! OGG buffer
DUH *duhMod;
AL_DUH_PLAYER *musMod;
const char *cfgFile;

// INSERT HERE !! Open/prepare OGG file "NEWDRUG.OGG" at 44.1kHz
dumb_register_stdfiles();
duhMod = dumb_load_mod("BGM00.MOD");

JumpHere:
// INSERT HERE !! Poll OGG file
al_poll_duh(musMod);

destroy_bitmap(CombinedLayer);
// INSERT HERE !! Free OGG buffer
al_stop_duh(musMod);
unload_duh(duhMode);
allegro_exit();

Okay? Those are just bits of my code, but where you see // INSERT HERE !!, that's where I want to do something with AllegroOgg. I gave you the portions of my code to allow you to see where I need to insert the appropriate code so that it works with the way my program is setup. Would anyone be willing to fill in the missing lines? I hope this isn't asking much... I think it's probably about as simple as using MOD files with DUMB, but I actually understood DUMB instructions... AllegroOgg instructions I didn't think were easy to follow at all.

EDIT: And BTW, I'm looking to read the file entirely from memory, not from a disk.

Kitty Cat

It's not AllegroOgg, but APEG can do it:

2BITMAP *Dump;
3APEG_STREAM *ogg_stream; /* HERE */
4DUH *duhMod;
5AL_DUH_PLAYER *musMod;
6const char *cfgFile;
11ogg_stream = apeg_open_stream("newdrug.ogg"); /* HERE */
12dumb_register_stdfiles();