Dirty Rectangles
Ludwig Auer

Hi!
I'm new in Allegro, an I made my first steps with al small Program, which allows the user to move an image by the mouse.

Ok, I tried Doublebuffering! Is ist right, that this methode isn't very fast. By playing the Demogame with Doublebuffering I got about 60 fps - with this 'Dirty Rectangle' Variante, I got ca. 500.

The Screenresolution was 640x480...

Now I'm Searching for a simple implementation of Dirty Rectangle. Can sb. help me? It would be kind of you.

THX
lnx_root:)

Jouser

To use dirty rectangles in your small program instead of double buffering:

1. Simply save the part of the screen that your box is going to be blitted to (using blit())

2. Blit() your image box or whatever you have to its destination on screen.

3. Calculate the new position from keyboard input or whatever...

4. Blit() the original part of the screen from step 1 back to its place.

5. Start over at step 1 with a new (x,y)

miran

Actually DRS is a bit different although Jouser's method works too:

1. make a buffer you draw to just like with normal double buffering
2. draw to this buffer like if you had double buffering and always mark the rectangle that was changed by the drawing function dirty (i.e. add it to a dirty list which can be a linked list or an STL vector or something like that)
3. when you blit the buffer to the physical screen don't blit all of it, only the rectangles that are dirty (i.e. go through the dirty list, blit every rectangle from the buffer to the screen and remove the rectangle from the list)

Ludwig Auer

Thank you for your reply, but I don't really understand.:-/??? Like I said: I'm new to coding with C and allegro... Perhaps you have an old (small) code which includes Dirty Rectangles.
Sorry, if my questions sound stupid, i'm not good in my English-classes either.:-[

miran

There's a DRS tutorial (along with a bunch of other tutorials) here: [url http://agdn.cjb.net]

Steve Terry