Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » [A5] How to draw triangle list outlines only

Credits go to Edgar Reynaldo and MikiZX for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
[A5] How to draw triangle list outlines only
BitCruncher
Member #11,279
August 2009

Hi all,

Is there a way to call al_draw_vertex_buffer() with ALLEGRO_PRIM_TRIANGLE_LIST so that it will draw the vertex list as triangles but not fill them?

MikiZX
Member #17,092
June 2019

I am a noob so cannot really help directly - only some thoughts:

You will likely need to create a separate index buffer (using your existing vertex buffer of vertices) for this and then draw this new index buffer using al_draw_indexed_buffer and ALLEGRO_PRIM_LINE_LIST.
Indexed buffer is a list of indices pointing to the vertices in your vertex buffer and those indices, in this example - in pairs, define the lines to be drawn.

If you are using OpenGL, you might have another option (though I have not tested this).
This would be to include :
#include <allegro5/allegro.h>
#include <allegro5/allegro_opengl.h>

and then execute:

// draw the wireframe
glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_LINE);
// draw the same polygons again

// restore default polygon mode
glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_FILL);

Possibly you will want to do this as well:
// offset the wireframe
glEnable(GL_POLYGON_OFFSET_LINE);
glPolygonOffset(-1,-1);
// draw your stuff here
glDisable(GL_POLYGON_OFFSET_LINE);

Polygon mode used here:
https://github.com/liballeg/allegro5/blob/master/examples/ex_glext.c

Though, as mentioned I am new to Allegro5 so likely someone who knows much more will post a better way.

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

BitCruncher
Member #11,279
August 2009

I haven't had time to test this, but it seems right, so +1. Thanks.

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

Elias
Member #358
May 2000