Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Timing of enemy arrival in shmup

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Timing of enemy arrival in shmup
_jagged
Member #17,124
September 2019

Hello everyone,
I've started making a 2d shmup in the style of rtype. This is my first game and first time using an api (I've been coding for about 4 months). So far everything is going well and I'm having a blast. My 'engine' cycles through the gamestates (start screen, in game, game over) and I have explosion animations, collision, audio etc all working nicely.

But... I'm not sure what is an efficient way to time when my waves of enemies should appear onscreen. Unlike my functions for collision I don't know how to use a function for spawning enemies unless they are all spawned at the same time. In a game like Rtype the enemies typically appear onscreen one by one with maybe 0.25 - 0.5 second delay.

Currently I have a counter int the redraw block:

#SelectExpand
1if (redraw && al_is_event_queue_empty(event_queue)) 2{ 3 redraw = 0; 4 switch (gamestate) 5 { 6 case START_SCREEN: 7 al_draw_textf(font, al_map_rgb(255, 0, 255), SCREEN_WIDTH / 2, SCREEN_HEIGHT / 2, 8 ALLEGRO_ALIGN_CENTER, "C-Type"); 9 al_draw_textf(font, al_map_rgb(255, 0, 255), SCREEN_WIDTH / 2, (SCREEN_HEIGHT / 10 2) + (SCREEN_HEIGHT / 8), 11 ALLEGRO_ALIGN_CENTER, "press spacebar to begin"); 12 break; 13 case IN_GAME: 14 enemy_timer++;

And then in the event timer block I do this:

#SelectExpand
1if (enemy_timer == 240) 2init_enemy(&enemy_grunts[0], 1920, 300); 3 4if (enemy_timer == 270) 5init_enemy(&enemy_grunts[1], 1920, 300); 6 7if (enemy_timer == 300) 8init_enemy(&enemy_grunts[2], 1920, 300);

Which is obvious tiresome. Can I make this happen for ten enemies by using a function?
Maybe with an allegro timer dedicated for enemies?

Cheers!

Audric
Member #907
January 2001