Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Transparent windows

Credits go to Edgar Reynaldo for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Transparent windows
urskogshumla
Member #16,942
January 2019

Hi!

So, when developing with GLFW on linux, it was very straightforward to achieve this goal. I just used the GLFW_TRANSPARENT_FRAMEBUFFER window hint and a glClearColor with an alpha of 0.0, fired up my compositor and it was working dandy. Now, all cozy with allegro instead, I can't find any such solutions. So my question is: Are there any?

And follow up question: Can allegro alternatively use a glwf window to do its rendering? If so; then I could just spin up a glfw window, tell allegro to use that rendering context/window, and use glClear/hints/clearcolor as usual. Is this possible?

I'm pretty new to the allegro library, so sorry if these are questions with obvious answers or so.

Hugs

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

The key to transparent windows is the gl context creation. Since allegro doesn't support using a custom context, you can't currently do it with Allegro.

However, allegro can still give you a HWND on Windows, which you can use to set the window properties and the color key which allows shaping the window with a single transparent color. This does not work for translucency though, for that, again, you need a custom gl context.

urskogshumla
Member #16,942
January 2019

Thank you!

I downloaded the git version of allegro from the arch user repositories instead, and made a few changes with help from a GLX example by datenwolf:

GLX example: https://github.com/datenwolf/codesamples/blob/master/samples/OpenGL/x11argb_opengl/x11argb_opengl.c
Changes made to 'src/x/xglx_config.c': https://pastebin.com/e1F1S8W4

And I ended up with translucent windows, using ALLEGRO_ALPHA_SIZE 8, al_map_rgba colors and compton as compositor.