Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » macOS 10.13.6 High Sierra build errors

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
macOS 10.13.6 High Sierra build errors
thebignic
Member #14,419
July 2012

Building from the instructions found here: http://curtis.schlak.com/2014/05/22/creating-and-using-allegro-5-static-libraries-with-xcode-5.html

I have cloned from git and checked out the 5.1 branch, cmake seems to be ok but when I go to make, I get the following error:

In file included from /Users/bignic/allegro/src/macosx/hidjoy.m:19:
In file included from /Users/bignic/allegro/include/allegro5/allegro.h:71:
/Users/bignic/allegro/include/allegro5/platform/alosx.h:43:12: fatal error: 'QuickTime/QuickTime.h' file not
found
#import <QuickTime/QuickTime.h>
^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1 error generated.

There is another post on allegro.cc that seems to resolve the issue but I'm new to macOS, git, and home-brew and don't know how to proceed. The post suggests to use master branch (isn't that the default? 5.1?) or to install --HEAD with homebrew but I have no idea what that means.

If QuickTime APIs are deprecated (?) why are they still included?
Also, is there any way to checkout a version later than 5.1 and might that solve my problem? (5.1 is the latest version that seems to be available to check out?)

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

thebignic
Member #14,419
July 2012

I tried to checkout several but only 5.1 seems to be listed in git?

Any idea what I'm doing wrong?

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

thebignic
Member #14,419
July 2012

Thanks... getting further, but still some issues.

Freetype seems to not be included, but I've installed it (brew install freetype)

make and make install seem to work fine (freetype is detected and the library is now built)