Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Off-Topic Ordeals » asp.Net C# reccommended books...

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
asp.Net C# reccommended books...
Ariesnl
Member #2,902
November 2002

I would like to make a start in web development.
Being a web development noob, I would like to get some good books to get me up and running.
some advice please.

I 'm comfortable with C# and I wrote some desktop programs with is.But I never coded fot the web.

Thanks in advance.

Perhaps one day we will find that the human factor is more complicated than space and time (Jean luc Picard)
Current project: [Star Trek Project ] Join if you want ;-)

bamccaig
Member #7,536
July 2006

The most difficult thing for Web development is HTML/CSS structure and styling. That's predominantly the only difference between Web and non-Web. I suggest investing most of your effort on getting good at that because that is going to be the thing that decides whether what you build is attractive and functional and cross-browser.

These days ASP.NET uses a Model-View-Controller pattern cleverly called "MVC" with a very friendly template syntax and very convenient implicit mappings between user inputs and the underlying code structures. It also makes it trivial to get URL routing patterns setup... It's trivial to use, but as with most Microsoft software there are some annoying "gotchas". Mostly you'll be best to learn of those the hard way. I suggest just dive in and do it. I can't recommend any books. I'm not sure there are any, and I don't think it'll be an efficient way to absorb the information.