Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Trying to make a DOS game for fun, but setting it up is tricky

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Trying to make a DOS game for fun, but setting it up is tricky
dada__
Member #16,089
September 2015

So I've got a bit of a weird/niche situation here. I'm hoping for some feedback on what to do.

I've always been a fan of DOS games, so I've always wanted to make one. A small one. So I've been trying to set up a dev environment that will work for me.

But since I'm also a spoiled new age developer I'm trying to make it so that I can cross compile for DOS on my Mac OS X machine. And I can, using DJGPP compiled for OSX! I can make a hello world just fine, it produces a .EXE and it runs perfectly on the real thing.

So now I've moved on to trying to get Allegro to work. I'm using Allegro 4.2.2 for compatibility. My test repo is here.

My initial idea was to run fix.sh djgpp and then simply #include Allegro to see if I could compile it normally as a dependency. Unfortunately that doesn't work since it eventually reaches msvchelp.c which requires Windows, although all files before that compile just fine.

My question, am I just totally doing it wrong by including allegro.h and expecting it to be compilable? Do I need to take a whole different approach? Perhaps there's a pre-compiled Allegro for DOS that I can include instead of the sources?

Any help you can give me is greatly appreciated :)

Bruce Perry
Member #270
April 2000

I assume msvchelp.c is in a Windows-specific directory, and you can find a way to exclude it (along with other platform-specific directories that aren't DOS)?

--
Bruce "entheh" Perry [ Web site | DUMB | Set Up Us The Bomb !!! | Balls ]
Programming should be fun. That's why I hate C and C++.
The brxybrytl has you.

dada__
Member #16,089
September 2015