Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Problems compiling allegro game. Probably a linking error. Libraries?

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Problems compiling allegro game. Probably a linking error. Libraries?
miner_tom
Member #16,065
August 2015

Hi,

I am new to game programming with Allegro.

I have downloaded a very popular game program called "blasteroids". When I try to use the make file to compile the program I get an error that very much seems related to libraries:

"undefined reference to symbol 'cos@@GLIBC_2.2.5'
//lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libm.so.6: error adding symbols: DSL missing from command line"

I have done research online and found that this problem is usually due to the order in which libraries are presented to gcc for linking.

I went looking for the allegro libraries, where the makefile suggests, which is /usr/lib and I found no .so files specifically related to allegro.

Is there something wrong with my installation of allegro?

Thank You
Tom

Peter Hull
Member #1,136
March 2001

Do you mean 'DSO missing from command line'?

Can you post the linker command line? (or, where is the source for Blasteroids that you're using?)

miner_tom
Member #16,065
August 2015

Hi, of course you are correct. The error is

"undefined reference to symbol 'cos@@GLIBC_2.2.5"
"/lib64/libm.so.6: error adding symbols: DSO missing from command line"

The linking section from the Makefile is as follows:

CXX=gcc
CFLAGS=-Wall -g
LDFLAGS=-L/usr/lib -lallegro -lallegro_primitives -lallegro_audio -lallegro_acodec -lallegro_font -lallegro_ttf -lallegro_main
LDFLAGS1=-L/usr/lib -lallegro -lallegro_primitives
INCLUDE=-I. -I/usr/include/allegro5

Thank You
Tom

Peter Hull
Member #1,136
March 2001

It might be as simple as adding '-lm' to the definition of LDFLAGS, i.e.

LDFLAGS=-L/usr/lib -lallegro -lallegro_primitives -lallegro_audio -lallegro_acodec -lallegro_font -lallegro_ttf -lallegro_main -lm