Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Stored mouse and keyboard after dialog

Credits go to Edgar Reynaldo, Gideon Weems, pkrcel, and SiegeLord for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Stored mouse and keyboard after dialog
Auradrummer
Member #15,778
October 2014

Hello Masters,

I'm with a problem that I'm not finding the answer anywhere.
I'm not a newbie in programming, so if have some good technical explanation I'll appreciate.

The question is simple, I made a hotkey to exit my application. If I cancel the exiting confirmation, the prompt is shown again, as the keys is "stored" in the buffer.

Another thing I've noticed, if I call the exit by clicking at the button (and cancel after), the mouse stays "clicking" even if I release the left button. I need to click anywhere to reset the button.

How can I treat this?

SiegeLord
Member #7,827
October 2006

Err... is this Allegro4 or Allegro5?

"For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increases knowledge increases sorrow."-Ecclesiastes 1:18
[SiegeLord's Abode][Codes]:[DAllegro5]:[RustAllegro]

Edgar Reynaldo
Major Reynaldo
May 2007

You should post the code you are using for your hotkey detection. Use <code>code goes here...</code> tags in the forum.

It sounds like you are using the key array in Allegro 4 and you need a way to tell your application not to go into the prompt again, so toggle a flag off each time you activate a screen, and only turn the flag on when your key state goes from false to true (ie. once).

Auradrummer
Member #15,778
October 2014

Hi masters,

I forgot to post the version, is Allegro 5.

if(closeButton->isPressed() || (al_key_down(key, ALLEGRO_KEY_Q) && al_key_down(key, ALLEGRO_KEY_LSHIFT)))
    {
        if(!saved)
        {
            if(al_show_native_message_box(disp, "Close?", "Warning", "Loose unsaved informations?", NULL, ALLEGRO_MESSAGEBOX_OK_CANCEL) == 1)
                return EXIT;
        }