Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » OOP Physics Implimentation...

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
OOP Physics Implimentation...
Michael Jensen
Member #2,870
October 2002

Hey guys, I'm new to OOP and my next attempted project will be my first c++ one (usually I program in just c with the perks of ++ except for OOP -- since I've been learning VB.NET/C# I've learned most of what's capable with OOP except for syntax with c++ which doesn't seem to be that hard to pickup on...)

Anyway at first I was thinking I'd probably have a general object class that everything in my game would be a part of (maybe inherit from, not sure) and I'd pass the a pointer to a collection of objects off to a physics object to let it deal with them (apply gravity, friction, etc...) But then I was thinking maybe that's not the best way...

It would be interesting if I had a global physics object that I could pass these other objects into, but let the objects themselves do it -- maybe pass a pointer to the global phsyics object into these entity objects in the constructor, and just call a tick or logic method or something and let themselves handle their own phsyics on the whole... anyway that's my starting point...

any ideas, thoughts, better ways, critisisms?

SonShadowCat
Member #1,548
September 2001

Get a piece of paper, make a box with the base class and draw lines to boxes of derived classes. This helps you visualize if you're overdoing it and inheriting classes which should inherit from other classes.

You wouldn't inherit an NPC from a base class that works for boxes would you?

Michael Jensen
Member #2,870
October 2002

I dunno -- All of my oop experience so far is with the .net framework -- everything is an object or inherits from a base class named object -- everything...

I kind of liked the idea... is this sort of thing slow?

lennaert van der linden
Member #6,053
July 2005