Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » AllegroGL

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
AllegroGL
Mariusz
Member #1,634
November 2001

Hi,

First of all I am totally new to AllegroGL. What I am trying to do is to set background (bmp) and then blit a PNG image on top that has a alpha channel. My final goal is to achieve an alpha blending around the edges of a PNG image to make is a smooth as possible.

Can anyone point me to some examples, please?

Thank you,
M.

Steve Terry
Member #1,989
March 2002

glEnable(GL_BLEND);
glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA,GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA);
glBind(blah);

Should be all you need. Allegro doesn't support PNG natively but you can use loadpng or a bitmap + grayscale mask to achieve the same effect.

Fladimir da Gorf
Member #1,565
October 2001

Maybe you should take a look at an Allegro add-on called OpenLayer. It's specifically suited for rendering 2D graphics - especially for rendering bitmaps with alpha channels (check the manual for Bitmap). With AllegroGL you can't (as far as I know) to rotate or stretch images with alpha channels or apply special effects to them. Also with AllegroGL you'll get a lot of overhead as it sends the bitmap data to the graphics card over and over when you render it.

OpenLayer comes with all pre-built libraries which are required to load png images. Installing everything is only 3 copy-paste operations ;)

OpenLayer has reached a random SVN version number ;) | Online manual | Installation video!| MSVC projects now possible with cmake | Now alvailable as a Dev-C++ Devpack! (Thanks to Kotori)

Bob
Free Market Evangelist
September 2000

Quote:

Also with AllegroGL you'll get a lot of overhead as it sends the bitmap data to the graphics card over and over when you render it.

Unless you just use video bitmaps, obviously.

Quote:

With AllegroGL you can't (as far as I know) to rotate or stretch images with alpha channels or apply special effects to them.