Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » 3D game design + my skybox works!

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2   3   4 
3D game design + my skybox works!
Eric Johnson
Member #14,841
January 2013

A few things:

1. I'm brand new to OpenGL/WebGL, so I'm bound to make stupid mistakes.
2. I'm only interested in 2D for the time being.
3. My triangles are drawn to pixel space relative to the top left being the origin (0, 0) and are then converted to clip space in the vertex shader. I don't think the orientation of the vertices matter, but I could be wrong.

I'm no statistics guy, but won't at least half (or 2/3rd?) of those have the wrong orientation (clockwise vs counterclockwise) and be culled?

Those are pixel co-ordinates. I convert them to clip space in my vertex shader. I did this because I'm only concerned with 2D right now, and I want things to be indexed in pixel space at (0, 0) at the top left of the screen. I don't think the orientation of the vertices matter, but I could be wrong. The vertices essentially look like this: x1, y1, x2, y2, x3, y3. Those are X and Y pairs in pixels for the three points of the triangle.

Quote:

What hardware are you running on? CPU/videocard.

AMD FX 4300 @ 3.8 GHz and GTX 1060 (6GB).

I'm brand new to OpenGL/WebGL, so I'm bound to make stupid mistakes. I don't claim to know what I'm doing, but I'm trying.