Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » let's share our classes

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
let's share our classes
Hassan Kanso
Member #15,437
December 2013

Hey,
I am a c++ /allegro 5 programmer...coding need a team ,and if you are not in a team it will take a lot of your time . So what I say let's share our classes and what we have done ,so other game developer will not need to rewrite the same object...I mean by that someone give the particle system class other one give button class,collision functions,jump functions,fire functions,text box class and like that things ...after that the progression of the programming will increase a lot and we will have more time for graphics design and the story and that other things.

Okay of course I said that idea so I should to start first :

my classes :

game class. (event queue ,event ,timer ,inputs register function...)
page class.
button class.
text box class (input box).
text class.
timer class.
check box class.

::)::)

gezegond
Member #14,762
December 2012

If you want to enable other programmers to use your code, you should license it as either GPL or one of the permissive ones such as MIT.

Most people usually license their whole games rather than just parts of it afaik.

Chris Katko
Member #1,881
January 2002

Is it Monday already?

Game objects are very specialized. You may use x, y, for your objects, but I may use x, y, and "height" for game to denote drawing order. So using that alone, I'm going to have to inherit from your class and change the object handler, and the drawing I'm going to have to write myself anyway.