Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Allegro 4.4, OSX 10.6.2, XCode 3.2.1

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Allegro 4.4, OSX 10.6.2, XCode 3.2.1
Nethfel
Member #11,729
February 2010

Hi all,

I feel a bit like an idiot here, and I'm hoping some can help.

I am trying to install/use Allegro 4.4.0.1 w/ XCode.

I was able to follow the directions from this post:

http://www.allegro.cc/forums/thread/603237/852823#target

and get allegro compiled and "installed" - but in XCode, I have no templates for XCode, nor do I have any frameworks that I see. I'd like to compile a simple allegro app, but I don't see how to create an app that would end as a bundle that isn't set for cocoa (I'm sorry, I'm new to xcode, I see a command line executable, but it doesn't seem to build a bundle)

Any tips on how to really get going would be most appreciated, or if anyone knows where to get a working template for allegro in XCode, that would be a tremendous help.

Evert
Member #794
November 2000

I don't actually use xcode, so I can only offer some limited advice.

Nethfel said:

in XCode, I have no templates for XCode, nor do I have any frameworks that I see.

I don't think there is an Xcode Allegro template; if there is it'll be a third-party contribution. If someone cares to make one (and do a binary distribution of Allegro for OS X) that would be useful.
Allegro doesn't build as a framework by default, just a collection of independent UNIX-style dylibs (or .a files). You can bundle these in a framework, and I know that there are instructions for how to do so out there for 4.2, but I don't know for 4.4. Probably best to start looking at the 4.2 documentation and try to go from there if you want to go that route.