Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » true isometric projection with opengl

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
true isometric projection with opengl
Member #10,357
November 2008

Hello,

I am a newbie in OpenGL programming and not very good at mathematics. Is there a simple way to have isometric projection?

I mean the true isometric projection, not the general orthogonal projection.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isometric_projection)

Isometric projection happens only when projections of unit X, Y and Z vectors are equally long and angles between them are exactly 120 degrees.

(Also this is kind of a follow up for the thread: http://www.allegro.cc/forums/thread/592722)

Code snippets are highly appreciated..

Thanks in advance..

Thomas Harte
Member #33
April 2000

Definitely possible. It'll be a job of twizzling the projection matrix after you've set up whatever you'd like as an orthogonal projection (for example, to set up what proportion of the screen 1 unit is), then something like:

#SelectExpand
1GLfloat isoMatrix[16] = 2{ 3 sinf(2*M_PI/3), cosf(2*M_PI/3), 0, 0, 4 sinf(4*M_PI/3), cosf(4*M_PI/3), 0, 0, 5 0, 1, 1, 0, 6 0, 0, 0, 1 7}; 8 9isoMatrix[0] = 10 11glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION); 12glMultMatrixf(isoMatrix); 13 14glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW); 15...

Might not be right, but is intended to map the x axis to an angle 1/3 of the way around a circle, the y axis to an angle 2/3 of the way around a circle and the z axis to straight up, with 'distance' preserved (but still ignored) so that depth buffering works. This is really dashed off very quickly, without much thought at all. I'm sure someone smarter or with time to actually fire up a compiler will be able to fix it up almost immediately.

SiegeLord
Member #7,827
October 2006