Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Installation, Setup & Configuration » Install and Set up Allegro in Linux.

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Install and Set up Allegro in Linux.
Neil Black
Member #7,867
October 2006

Basically what the title says. I installed Ubuntu on my computer a while back, but I've just now gotten into programming. I'm compiling from the command line, which is something I've never done before (I learned something today, yay!).

So how do I get Allegro installed and set up to work from the command line. And how to I compile Allegro programs from the command line?

Thomas Fjellstrom
Member #476
June 2000

If you want to skip compiling allegro, just use apt-get or aptitude to install allegro (aptitude install liballegro-dev).

Otherwise, you get to download and extract (tar zxf allegro-4.2.2.tar.gz) allegro to some directory. After that you can follow the install directions in doc/build/linux.txt.

As for compiling from the command line:

debug:
gcc -W -Wall -ggdb3 -pipe file.c -o program `allegro-config --libs`

release:
gcc -W -Wall -s -O2 -pipe file.c -o program `allegro-config --libs`

NOTE: those (`) are backticks, not quotes.

--
Thomas Fjellstrom - [website] - [email] - [Allegro Wiki] - [Allegro TODO]
"If you can't think of a better solution, don't try to make a better solution." -- weapon_S
"The less evidence we have for what we believe is certain, the more violently we defend beliefs against those who don't agree" -- https://twitter.com/neiltyson/status/592870205409353730

Neil Black
Member #7,867
October 2006

Quote:

gcc -W -Wall -s -O2 -pipe file.c -o program `allegro-config --libs`

I keep getting an "unrecognised option '-02'" error.

What are all those different options for? the only one I recognise it '-o'.

Thomas Fjellstrom
Member #476
June 2000

Quote:

I keep getting an "unrecognised option '-02'" error.

Its an O (the letter) not a 0 (the number) ;)

Quote: