Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » [SHMUP] Spline based movement

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
[SHMUP] Spline based movement
ngiacomelli
Member #5,114
October 2004

I've been working on a SHMUP in my free time but it's all coming together now. One of the last things I have chosen to address is enemy AI and movement. At first I was hesitant about incorporating a spine-based movement system for two reasons:

• I have little or no experience with splines and a poor head for mathematics

• I considered a spine-based approach 'overkill'.

While the first point is still relevant, the second point no longer is. The more I thought about having to hardcode various movement routines for each enemy type or incorporate a scripting engine, the more splines came to seem logical.

What I'm looking for is some kind of spline implementation that will let me:

• Plot points for an enemy to move to.

• State how fast an enemy should move from point A -> point B.

• State how long an enemy should stay on a certain point.

When I consider this system, it seems like most of my problems solve themselves. I would be able to make enemies carry out sophisticated loops and formations, while keeping a generic format for movement across all enemy types (which could then be stored in a map file). Currently, I'm planning to have enemy waves appear via a simple timing system. Whereby various waves are defined and then activated after a certain amount of time has elapsed.

The question is, what type of spline implementation am I look at? I'm really looking for a minimal solution. Any example code is appreciated (I'm working in C).

Any suggestions?

ixilom
Member #7,167
April 2006

I'm currently at work so I can't provide any real code, but I can tell you what I've done for my SHMUP (which will never be finished >:()

What I did was pre-calculate 1000 bezier spline paths and store them in x and y array pairs: