Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Game Design & Concepts » [Art] Program For Making Comics

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
[Art] Program For Making Comics
Mordredd
Member #5,291
December 2004

Does anybody know where I can find programs that can give comics a professional look? A friend of mine wanted me to draw a comic for him that is about a young samurai that has so much bad luck but always finds a way to get out. I called him Yin and had a first try:

http://www.jray.de/yin_title.jpg

But that does not look so clean like comics usually do...

edit
Don't be too hard on commenting it, it is my first attempt to draw a comic...

spellcaster
Member #1,493
September 2001

Well, you don't need a program for that :)

Just plan the layout of your panels first. The problem here is, that he just drew what he had in mind.

There are lots of good books in German that teach you that. PM me with your email and I'll give you a list of the books I have on that topic (which are quite a lot) :)

You could also try amazon.de, just make sure that you don't get anything form Christopher Hart ;)

There're also some booklets on Mangas that are quite good and give a lot of tips on panel layouting.

Hm.. but if it's just panel layouting, I should be able to give you a short summery (with example layouts)

--
There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots.

Tobias Dammers
Member #2,604
August 2002

That, and a more sophisticated stroke. You have sort of a wild, free-roaming stroke, which is ok for the stuff you usually do (according to your web site), but for good comic/cartoon work, you will want something more refined. Also, try a real black pen, somethink like an inkpen or felt pen or similar. Then a good ole' paint brush for coloring, or scan the inkpen drawing for further cleaning and coloring. You may want to work on your handwriting, too.

---
Me make music: Triofobie
---