Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » Yay, physics!

This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
Yay, physics!
hazul
Member #4,338
February 2004

I have very little knowledge about physics and even less knowledge about how to incorporate it in games (3D). So here I go with more questions.

Bouncing
How do you calculate the bounce of an object when it hits a surface? You have to have some numbers that depend on the materials (bounce-factor?), and the gravity should affect all of this.

Friction
Here's a tough one... I think the correct term is "sliding friction", this just means that if you e.g. push a box along the floor, it'll slow down and eventually stop, again depending on the materials. Also, getting more advanced, friction should cause a ball to roll on the floor, correct? How does all this work?

Rigid-body and soft-body dynamics
What are these? How are they used in games?

Thanks for any help. I know these big questions and that Google is my friend, but I can't seem to find the stuff I'm looking for.

"Multiplayer is actually the best way of not programming a good AI" -ReyBrujo

Tobi Vollebregt
Member #1,031
March 2001

Read this. IMO it's a really good article about particle physics and physics of bodies that are made of particles connected by infinitely stiff springs. It doesn't cover friction however.

Kanzure
Member #3,669
July 2003

Typo.

Quote:

Yay, physucks

There we go. ;D

I can't provide any other help. Just thought to point that out..;)

A J
Member #3,025
December 2002

Quote:

How do you calculate the bounce of an object when it hits a surface?

what is bounce?
if you can define what bounce is, there is your answer.