Allegro.cc - Online Community

Allegro.cc Forums » Programming Questions » allegro_exit in a timer!!!

Credits go to Bob, gillius, Kris Allen, Peter Hull, ReyBrujo, spellcaster, and Yves Rizoud for helping out!
This thread is locked; no one can reply to it. rss feed Print
 1   2 
allegro_exit in a timer!!!
Iain Price
Member #4,994
September 2004

Right heres a good one for you...I'm new to allegro but not programming. Please be gentle.... :)

I am writing an emulator, so I do not have control over the main loop of the program. I have a timer that checks for ESC being pressed, and calls unload_shite and then allegro_exit. If I end the emu with the ESC key it does not exit cleanly - sometimes execption errors, sometimes a hang. I think I am cleaning variables and memory OK, I think my problems are from trying to exit from within a timer... any advice????

void unload_shite(void)
{
remove_int(timers1ms);
remove_int(emu_draw_reel);
remove_int(emu_lamp_updateflash);
remove_int(emu_check_hoppers);
if (background)
destroy_bitmap(background);
if (emu_fruits_data)
unload_datafile(emu_fruits_data);
set_gfx_mode(GFX_TEXT, 0, 0, 0, 0);
remove_int(timers10ms); //called from here in a timer
clear_keybuf();
}

Help. :'(

spellcaster
Member #1,493
September 2001

Do you have a mouse cursor visible? In this case you need to hide the mouse.
If you end the program anyway, you can also get rid of the allegro_exit(), which is IMHO not save to call from a timer.

--
There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots.

ReyBrujo
January 2001

First, use [CODE] and [/CODE] to surround code (in lowercase, otherwise it won't work).